Home / Motorsport News / Newgarden wins, Power fails to finish in Toronto

Newgarden wins, Power fails to finish in Toronto

Simon Pagenaud

Josef Newgarden has won the Honda Indy Toronto while Will Power managed to limp through only one lap after a hit with Scott Dixon.

Newgarden profited from a quick call from strategist Tim Cindric to pit when Tony Kanaan found the wall a quarter of the way through proceedings

The resulting Caution had trapped the top five, headed by last-start winner Helio Castroneves (Team Penske Chevrolet), when pit lane closed.

Pole-sitter Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske Chevrolet) headed the field only as far as the first corner, at which point Castroneves made a huge dive to elevate himself from third to first.

The drama unfolded for Power just two corners later when he hit the rear of Dixon and bounced into the outside wall under brakes, briefly stranding the #12 Team Penske Chevrolet and bringing out a full course yellow.

It appeared that the field had checked up, causing Dixon (Chip Ganassi Honda) to jink left to avoid ramming third-placed Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda), but putting himself in Power’s path.

“I went down the outside of Scott and I don’t know if someone was on the inside of him (but) he moved out pretty quickly,” said Power.

“Unfortunately, we ended up in the wall. I should know better than to ever take any sort of risk when it’s the first lap, it’s just not worth it.”

The Australian barely managed to make it back to pit lane but took no further part in the 85-lap race and was classified 21st and last.

Dixon, meanwhile, pitted twice under Caution and incurred a drive-through for having too much work in a closed pit lane.

When the race restarted, Castroneves immediately put several car lengths on Pagenaud, and the Brazilian looked in control until a Caution was called on Lap 23, closing pit lane.

Kanaan had found the tyre wall at Turn 1, having locked up all four corners on his #10 Chip Ganassi Honda on his out lap.

While much of the field had already made their first pit stops and Newgarden had filed in just before the yellows were thrown out, the top five had to wait until pit lane opened again.

Among the disadvantaged were Castroneves, Pagenaud, Rahal, and Spencer Pigot (Ed Carpenter Chevrolet), who was on black tyres and carved through the field while those around him battled with deteriorating reds towards the end of their first stints.

Newgarden led upon restart, while second and third of Ed Jones (Dale Coyne Honda) and Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Honda) had decided to not pit in the hope that grey skies would turn into rain.

Those two pitted by the end of Lap 38, but not before a quick Alexander Rossi (Andretti Autosport Honda) had taken third off Jones, leaving a top five of Newgarden, Rossi, James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Honda), Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport Honda), and Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport Honda) approaching halfway.

The middle of the race became a game of fuel-saving, with Rossi initially cutting deep into Newgarden’s lead, to less than two seconds, before blowing back out to over five seconds when the leader made his final pit stop at the end of Lap 54.

While Dixon ran off-strategy after his Lap 1 drama and briefly ran fourth, the top five remained effectively unchanged through the final pit stops cycle, with Pagenaud moving up to sixth and Castroneves running eighth for the final stint of the race.

Dixon emerged 11th from his final pit stop and nearly understeered into the wall on Lap 64.

Pagenaud and Hunter-Reay banged wheels in and out of Turn 3 on Lap 77, Hunter-Reay holding onto the place with a criss-cross before giving it away with an error at Turn 8 on Lap 80.

Out front, Newgarden managed the margin to take his second win of the season, with the top five rounded out by Rossi, the Canadian Hinchcliffe, Andretti, and Pagenaud.

Hunter-Reay battled pick-up after his mistake but held sixth from Max Chilton (Chip Ganassi Honda) and Castroneves, while Rahal and Dixon made a late move past Schmidt Peterson Honda stand-in Sebastian Saavedra to complete the top 10.

Castroneves thus managed to eke only five points out of Dixon’s championship lead as the New Zealander managed to hang onto the lead lap and salvage a result, while Newgarden has put himself into series title contention.

Esteban Gutierrez was cleared to race after a qualifying crash caused concussion-like symptoms, finishing 14th for Dale Coyne Racing.

The next race is the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio on July 28-30.

Results: Indy Toronto

Pos Driver Grid C/A/E/T Laps Race time, gap Laps led Status Pit stops
1 Josef Newgarden 7 D/C/C/F 85 01:35:05.3522 58 Running 2
2 Alexander Rossi 8 D/H/H/F 85 +1.8704 Running 2
3 James Hinchcliffe 6 D/H/H/F 85 +4.7020 Running 2
4 Marco Andretti 11 D/H/H/F 85 +18.7408 Running 2
5 Simon Pagenaud 1 D/C/C/F 85 +19.4274 2 Running 2
6 Ryan Hunter-Reay 16 D/H/H/F 85 +27.3905 Running 2
7 Max Chilton 9 D/H/H/F 85 +28.3386 1 Running 2
8 Helio Castroneves 3 D/C/C/F 85 +28.9415 24 Running 2
9 Graham Rahal 2 D/H/H/F 85 +29.7693 Running 2
10 Scott Dixon 5 D/H/H/F 85 +30.3369 Running 4
11 Sebastian Saavedra 20 D/H/H/F 85 +32.7668 Running 2
12 Charlie Kimball 17 D/H/H/F 85 +36.4821 Running 3
13 JR Hildebrand 12 D/C/C/F 85 +52.8910 Running 2
14 Esteban Gutierrez (R) 21 D/H/H/F 85 +53.9858 Running 2
15 Carlos Munoz 19 D/C/C/F 85 +57.2777 Running 3
16 Takuma Sato 10 D/H/H/F 85 +1:01.8457 Running 3
17 Conor Daly 18 D/C/C/F 85 +1:02.3752 Running 4
18 Spencer Pigot 13 D/C/C/F 84 +1 lap Running 4
19 Tony Kanaan 14 D/H/H/F 83 +2 laps Running 3
20 Ed Jones (R) 15 D/H/H/F 75 +10 laps Mechanical 2
21 Will Power 4 D/C/C/F 0 +85 laps Contact 0

(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (A)erokit: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Scott Dixon 423
2 Helio Castroneves 420
3 Simon Pagenaud 404
4 Josef Newgarden 400
5 Will Power 359
6 Graham Rahal 359
7 Takuma Sato 351
8 Alexander Rossi 330
9 Tony Kanaan 306
10 James Hinchcliffe 297
11 Max Chilton 295
12 Ed Jones 276
13 Ryan Hunter-Reay 273
14 Marco Andretti 268
15 JR Hildebrand 263
16 Carlos Munoz 224
17 Mikhail Aleshin 221
18 Charlie Kimball 206
19 Conor Daly 179
20 Spencer Pigot 154
21 Ed Carpenter 142
22 Sebastien Bourdais 136
23 Juan Pablo Montoya 93
24 Gabby Chaves 83
25 Esteban Gutierrez 73
26 Oriol Servia 61
27 Sebastian Saavedra 52
28 Fernando Alonso 47
29 Pippa Mann 32
30 Jay Howard 24
31 Zach Veach 23
32 Sage Karam 23
33 James Davison 21
34 Jack Harvey 17
35 Tristan Vautier 15
36 Buddy Lazier 14


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.