Home / Motorsport News / Bird too good again in New York ePrix

Bird too good again in New York ePrix

Sam Bird pic: Formula E Instagram

Sam Bird has taken his second Formula E race win in as many days in New York as Mitch Evans again failed to finish.

Bird won by 11.3s in his Virgin Racing entry from the Mahindras of Felix Rosenqvist and Nick Heidfeld.

Starting from pole, Bird lost the start to Rosenqvist but ran with the Swede before getting past at Turn 6 on Lap 10.

The Brit emerged with the lead after the field made their pit stops and drove away to an 11.3s victory in the 49-lap race, having also won Race 1 a day earlier.

Rosenqvist immediately came under pressure from Heidfeld after he lost the lead, and while those two positions remained effectively unchanged thereafter, there was still late drama in the battle for the minor places.

Pierre Gasly caught the Mahindras and attempted to round up Heidfeld through the final corner but ended up bouncing between the walls and rolling over the line fourth in a damaged Renault e.dams car.

Lucas di Grassi took more points out of Sebastien Buemi’s championship lead, with Buemi on WEC duties for Toyota at the Nurburgring.

Mitch Evans’ Panasonic Jaguar lasted only five laps before succumbing to a technical problem, after it was contact that brought an early end to the New Zealander’s afternoon in Race 1 of the weekend.

The season will come to a close with another double-header, in Montreal on July 29-30.

Results: FIA Formula E Championship, New York Race 2

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Sam Bird Virgin DS-Virgin 58:09.388s
2 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Mahindra +11.381s
3 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Mahindra +12.319s
4 Pierre Gasly e.dams Renault +12.355s
5 Lucas di Grassi Abt ABT Schaeffler +23.451s
6 Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault +30.470s
7 Tom Dillmann Venturi Venturi +41.862s
8 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault +52.292s
9 Robin Frijns Andretti Andretti +1:00.475s
10 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Penske +1:12.659s
11 Adam Carroll Jaguar Jaguar +1:41.134s
12 Stephane Sarrazin Techeetah Renault +1 lap
13 Loic Duval Dragon Penske +1 lap
14 Oliver Turvey NextEV NextEV TCR +1 lap
15 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Andretti +1 lap
16 Nelson Piquet Jr NextEV NextEV TCR +3 laps
DNF Maro Engel Venturi Venturi Retirement
DNF Alex Lynn Virgin DS-Virgin Retirement
DNF Daniel Abt Abt ABT Schaeffler Retirement
DNF Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar Retirement

Championship Standings

Pos Driver Pts
1 Sebastien Buemi 157
2 Lucas di Grassi 147
3 Felix Rosenqvist 104
4 Sam Bird 100
5 Nico Prost 84
6 Nick Heidfeld 78
7 Jean-Eric Vergne 74
8 Jose Maria Lopez 50
9 Daniel Abt 47
10 Nelson Piquet Jr 33
11 Oliver Turvey 26
12 Robin Frijns 20
13 Loic Duval 19
14 Pierre Gasly 18
15 Stephane Sarrazin 17
16 Mitch Evans 16
17 Maro Engel 16
18 Jerome d’Ambrosio 11
19 Antonio Felix da Costa 10
20 Tom Dillmann 10
21 Esteban Gutierres 5
22 Adam Carroll 5
23 Alex Lynn 3
24 Mike Conway 0
25 Ma Qing Hua 0


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.