Home / Motorsport News / Bird takes out New York ePrix Race 1

Bird takes out New York ePrix Race 1

Sam Bird

Sam Bird has survived a late Safety Car to win Race 1 of the New York ePrix double-header.

Bird pulled away from Jean Eric-Vergne in the two-lap sprint to the chequered flag, with Stephane Sarrazin the final driver on the podium.

Alex Lynn took pole on debut but it was Daniel Abt who led the field away with Bird slotting into third.

Bird passed Lynn on Lap 9 and immediately set after Abt, taking over the race lead with a bold move on Lap 15.

Abt lost another position, to Vergne, just before the pit stops began, while Lynn lost several.

The front-runners ran unchanged after the pit stops, but now fifth-placed Lynn soon dropped out of the running with a mechanical problem.

Nick Heidfeld brought out the Safety Car with five of 43 laps remaining when he stopped with right-rear damage.

Bird successfully negotiated the restart to take victory, ahead of Vergne.

Abt, however, handed third position to Sarrazin with an error on the final lap, before a problem meant he was ultimately classified a lap down.

Lucas di Grassi has closed up on championship leader Sebastien Buemi, who is racing for Toyota in the World Endurance Championship this weekend, after finishing fourth

Mitch Evans retired after early contact.

The second race of the New York ePrix starts on Monday morning at 0300 AEST.

Results: FIA Formula E Championship, New York Race 1

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Sam Bird Virgin DS-Virgin 43 laps
2 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault +1.354s
3 Stephane Sarrazin Techeetah Renault +4.392s
4 Lucas di Grassi Abt ABT Schaeffler +6.155s
5 Loic Duval Dragon Penske +8.428s
6 Oliver Turvey NextEV NextEV TCR +8.952s
7 Pierre Gasly e.dams Renault +9.321s
8 Nico Prost e.dams Renault +10.036s
9 Robin Frijns Andretti Andretti +11.019s
10 Adam Carroll Jaguar Jaguar +12.073s
11 Nelson Piquet Jr NextEV NextEV TCR +12.977s
12 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Andretti +13.341s
13 Tom Dillmann Venturi Venturi +16.337s
14 Daniel Abt Abt ABT Schaeffler +1 lap
15 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Mahindra +1 lap
DNF Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Mahindra Retirement
DNF Maro Engel Venturi Venturi Retirement
DNF Alex Lynn Virgin DS-Virgin Retirement
DNF Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Penske Retirement
DNF Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar Retirement

Championship Standings

Pos Driver Pts
1 Sebastien Buemi 157
2 Lucas di Grassi 137
3 Felix Rosenqvist 86
4 Nico Prost 76
5 Sam Bird 72
6 Jean-Eric Vergne 70
7 Nick Heidfeld 63
8 Jose Maria Lopez 50
9 Daniel Abt 46
10 Nelson Piquet Jr 33
11 Oliver Turvey 26
12 Loic Duval 19
13 Robin Frijns 18
14 Stephane Sarrazin 17
15 Mitch Evans 16
16 Maro Engel 16
17 Antonio Felix da Costa 10
18 Jerome D’Ambrosio 10
19 Pierre Gasly 6
20 Esteban Gutierrez 5
21 Adam Carroll 5
22 Tom Dillmann 4
23 Mitch Evans 3


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.